Lowland League Campaign Up and Running

Broomhill Sports Club Glasgow FC (BSC Glasgow) and Edinburgh University AFC made their debuts within the Scottish Lowland Football League at Maryhill Juniors’ ground in Glasgow. For BSC, a club only formed in 2004, this was a significant step up from age group football. Their team, managed by John Brogan, comprised a mix of newly recruited players with Senior and Junior experience and young players developed within the Club. Edinburgh University moved from the East of Scotland Premier League.
The game was well contested from the outset with both teams probing for openings on a good, firm but wet on top surface. BSC created several opportunities in the first half hour but Edinburgh goalkeeper Mark Tait dealt capably with their efforts. Stuart MacFarlane responded with a dipping volley from 30 yards which struck the crossbar with the keeper beaten.
Edinburgh’s defence stood firm against increased pressure early in the second half with Tait, Hamish Flett and captain Duncan Black outstanding. The energetic play of Rawlinson, Finn Daniels and MacFarlane in midfield created a number of openings for Edinburgh as the game moved into the final quarter. The introduction of Aaron Hodgson up front for Joe Aitken in 70th minute set fresh problems for BSC and his smart turn inside the box resulted in a rash tackle. Hodgson converted the penalty to give Edinburgh an 81st minute lead.
Although BSC responded strongly, the points appeared secure for Edinburgh until loss of possession in the attacking third allowed BSC to break quickly, and an excellent long diagonal ball behind the Edinburgh defence was calmly slotted home by Ryan Holmes from close range.
On balance a share of the points was a fair result with both teams reflecting on solid first performances at Lowland League level. A good size crowd was appreciative of the competitive efforts of both sides.

BSC Glasgow: McGinley, Brophy, Morgan, Niven, Bronski, Gebbie, Holmes, Malone, McDougal, Wallace, McArthur. Substitutes McSorley, Gallagher, Williams, Fulton and Connely.

Edinburgh University: Tait, McMillan, Sutherland, Flett, Black, Finn Daniels, Rawlinson, MacFarlane, Aitken, Guthrie and Patterson. Substitutes Hainey, Irvine, Hodgson (70), Coleman and Duffy (82).